Members of Sigma Nu at their 150th Celebration

Sigma Nu Celebrates 150 Years at UGA

On Saturday, January 21st, 2023, over 375 members of the Mu Chapter of Sigma Nu gathered to celebrate 150 years of developing ethical leaders guided by the principles of love, honor, and truth. Of those 375 people over 135 collegiate brothers attended. Eminent Commander, sophomore John David (JD) St. Pe, delivered a State of the Chapter Address

Nearly 100 alumni returned to Athens for the celebration. Alumnus and two-time former Commander Robert Durham spoke on the History of Mu Chapter. Additionally, the Regent of Sigma Nu Fraternity, Tim Huffmyer, presented the chapter with a 150th Plaque of Distinction and alumnus and former Commander John Hearn delivered the keynote. Brother Hearn reminded members and alumni to keep raising the bar to new heights and to not just meet standards set by UGA IFC, but to set the bar for chapters of all fraternities at the national level.

During the program, the chapter honored three non-matriculate initiates with honorary membership. Jon Sprenger, Russ Hammond, and Chris Healy were instrumental to the revitalization of Mu Chapter in 2005. The chapter also honored Brother E. Speer Mabry III with a Regent’s Medallion of Merit Award, the highest honor bestowed by our national fraternity. E. Speer Mabry III served as Sigma Nu Commander during his undergraduate days in the 1960s and has volunteered as an alumnus for nearly 40 years.

Over the course of the evening members shared stories and memories in recognition of this chapter milestone. The success of the event was a true testament to the lifelong impact Sigma Nu has left on each individual member, as well as the 150 years of excellence at the University of Georgia.

Pictured above, from left to right, are current IFC President Emilio Ferrara, Commander John David St Pé, Commander John Hearn, Commander Robert Durham, former Sigma Nu Regent and honorary Mu member Joe Gilman, and Sigma Nu Regent Tim Huffmyer.