Kappa Alpha Theta

Kappa Alpha Theta was the first Greek letter society organized by women with principles and methods like those of men’s fraternities. Founded in 1870 at Indiana Asbury University (now DePauw University), Theta maintains a long tradition of excellence. The Gamma Delta chapter at the University of Georgia, chartered in 1936, is one of 118
chapters at colleges or universities across the United States and Canada.

Thetas live up to their outstanding reputation by showing support for one another, the University and the Greek community as a whole. The sisters of Kappa Alpha Theta strive for excellence in areas of campus life including academics, social endeavors and sisterhood. Theta members are involved in Tate Society, University Judiciary, Arch Society, Order of Omega, UGA Miracle, Leonard Leadership Scholars, Student Government Association and many other student organizations and honor societies. Thetas are also involved in many athletic, social and volunteer groups on campus from Dance Dawgs to Experience UGA.

As a group, Kappa Alpha Theta contributes a great deal of time and energy to the University community and boasts a well rounded group of members with hometowns from Texas to Tennessee and majors ranging from business to veterinary medicine. In both the fall and spring, Theta sponsors philanthropy events to benefit CASA, Court Appointed Special Advocates.

The members of Kappa Alpha Theta can’t wait to meet you and welcome you to the University of Georgia.

Kappa Alpha Theta
338 S. Milledge Ave
Athens, GA 30605

Nickname: Theta
Natonal Founding: DePauw University, January 27, 1870 
Colors: Black and Gold 
Flower: Pansy
Symbol: Kite
Magazine: Kappa Alpha Theta
Mascot: Cat

National Website
Chapter Website